Academic Writing

Tuesday 4 October 2022 12:15-13:00,
The Data Lab, the library,
KE A-259.

Join the library to learn more about the components of a good paper.

Published Updated on
Classes from the Library

Get started with academic writing

Do you wish to learn more about the components of a good paper? In this session, you will receive advice about how to get started, using sources, academic language, developing a good research statement and structure.

Illustration of a girl sitting by a desk with a cup of coffee, working on her laptop.

This class is for anyone who need help getting started writing a paper in English.

We will provide instructions the first 45 minutes. During the following 45 minutes, you will have the opportunity to stay and ask questions and receive guidance. 

Targent audience: Students at UiS who are writing a paper in English Language: English Where: The Data Lab, KE A-259 How can I prepare: Check out and get to know our Canvas-resource “Academic Writing” 

More about:

Classes from the library

Get help from a librarian

Wed. 01.02.2023

10:00-12:00

Dataverkstedet, biblioteket
KE A-259

Get help from a librarian

Thu. 02.02.2023

14:00-16:00

Dataverkstedet, biblioteket
KE A-259

Webinar: Introduction to EndNote

Tue. 07.02.2023

12:15-14:00

Zoom
Language: English

Webinar: Introduction to Zotero

Tue. 14.02.2023

12:15-14:00

Zoom
Language: English

Basics of Academic Writing: How to avoid plagiarism

Tue. 14.02.2023

12:15-13:00

Kjølv Egelands house
A-205

LaTeX 1: Introduction to LaTeX

Thu. 16.02.2023

12:15-14:00

The Data Lab, the library
KE A-259

LaTeX 2: LaTeX Advanced

Tue. 21.02.2023

12:15-14:00

The Data Lab, the library
KE A-259

Introduction to EndNote

Thu. 09.03.2023

10:15-12:00

The Ullandhaug Library
KE A-253

Introduction to Zotero

Thu. 16.03.2023

10:15-12:00

The Ullandhaug Library
KE A-253

Webinar: Introduction to NVivo

Tue. 18.04.2023

09:15-12:00

Zoom
Language: English

Introduction to open research and data management

Wed. 19.04.2023

09:15-11:00

The Data Lab, the library
KE A-259

Introduction to data management plans (DMPs)

Wed. 26.04.2023

09:15-11:00

The Data Lab, the library
KE A-259