Skip to main content

SHARE – Centre for Resilience in Healthcare

SHARE constitutes Norway’s largest research group studying quality and safety in healthcare.

Publisert: Endret:

International Symposium 23-24 November

SHARE International Symposium

Find more information about keynote speakers and call for abstract

Key Dates
Symposium dates

23-24 November

Deadline for abstract submission

15 September

The UiS based research centre SHARE was established in 2017. Together with national partners at Norwegian Air Ambulance Foundation (SNLA) and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology Gjøvik (NTNU Gjøvik), the centre constitutes Norway’s largest research group studying quality and safety in healthcare.

SHARE’s strategic vision is to become an internationally recognized research centre by reforming the understanding of quality and safety in current healthcare systems using a new and comprehensive resilience in healthcare framework. To achieve this, the centre will develop and disseminate new knowledge on resilience at all levels of healthcare.

SHARE is a multidisciplinary research centre. About 70 researchers are affiliated with the centre, including nurses, medical doctors, psychologists, physiotherapists, occupational therapist, lawyers, sociologist, engineers, and safety scientists. The centre’s main pillar is the solid base of PhD scholars conducting research in areas such as interdisciplinary teamwork and competence, co-production and involvement, telecare, regulation, evaluation of improvement measures, and analysis of healthcare processes.

The centre is affiliated with the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Stavanger. Network for Carer Research is also organized by the centre.



Centre leader

Professor Siri Wiig






University of Stavanger, NTNU Gjøvik and The Norwegian Air Ambulance Foundation

Research projects

Latest research

Resilience in Healthcare -

longitudinal research programme protocol

Resilience in a prehospital setting

a new focus for future research?

Patient Safety Leadership Intervention

behind the scenes in Nursing Homes and Homecare


The centre director is Professor Siri Wiig. Lene Schibevaag is center coordinator, Inger Johanne Bergerød is research coordinator, Cecilie Haraldseid-Driftland is responsible for communication and dissemination. Heidi Dombestein is coordinator for network for carer research.

Faculty of Health Sciences

Department of Quality and Health Technology
Faculty of Health Sciences

Department of Quality and Health Technology
Vitenskapelig assistent
University of Stavanger
Faculty of Health Sciences

Department of Quality and Health Technology
Koordinator Nettverk for pårørendeforskn
Faculty of Health Sciences

Department of Quality and Health Technology
Faculty of Health Sciences

Fakultetsadministrasjonen HV


SHARE is led by the University of Stavanger. The Norwegian Air Ambulance Foundation and NTNU Gjøvik are main partners.

Forskergruppen SHARE
Photo: Elisabeth Tønnessen

University of Stavanger

Researchers at the Faculty of Health Sciences at UiS constitute the largest academic environment within quality and safety in the health sector in Norway. It is recognized through participation in public investigations and hearings, as well as international expert groups. It is an interdisciplinary environment that involves nursing, medicine, psychology, sociology, security and engineering.

The Norwegian Air Ambulance Foundation (SNLA)

SNLA has an extensive research portfolio in the field of acute and pre-hospital health services with extensive collaboration with various clinical research environments nationally and internationally. It is important for the SHARE Centre that researchers with clinical medical research expertise are included in the collaboration.

NTNU Gjøvik 

NTNU Gjøvik established a collaboration with UiS in 2014 on a separate research group in patient safety. The partnership with SHARE involves admission of research fellows at NTNU Gjøvik to the PhD program in Health and Medicine at UiS. In this way, joint expertise is built across the academic environments. The research group at NTNU specializes in human factors, teamwork and development of effective instruments and interventions.



The center board consists of seven permanent members and five alternates. All partners are represented.

Board members

Henriette Thune (Dean of research, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Stavanger)

Ann Kristin Wiik (Board leader, SHARE, SNLA)

Åsa Mäkitalo (external member, University of Gothenburg)

Anne-Lise Kristensen (external member, Patient and Userombudsman Oslo and Akershus, and Elderly ombudsman in Oslo)

Torunn Strømme (University of Stavanger)

Ingrid Tjoflåt (University of Stavanger)

Aud Obstfelder (NTNU Gjøvik)



SHARE has extensive collaboration with hospitals, Norwegian municipalities and international partners.

Bilde av Stavanger Universitetssjukehus (SUS)
One of the hospitals SHARE collaborates with is Stavanger University Hospital (Photo: Svein Lunde, SUS).

SHARE’s research activities involve extensive collaboration with hospitals, primary care services, municipalities, technology suppliers, regulatory authorities, and user/patient representatives and organisations.

Collaboration is established with a number of hospitals, including Stavanger University Hospital, Haukeland University Hospital, Oslo University Hospital, Akershus University Hospital and Førde Central Hospital. Several municipalities are also involved, including Stavanger, Randaberg, Songdalen and Førde. In addition, cooperation has been established with regional and national authorities, such as counties, the Directorate of Health, the Norwegian Health Authority, the Norwegian Patient Injury Compensation, as well as patient organizations such as the Norwegian Patient Association, the Senior Case and the Patient and User Ombudsman.

Our international partners are the foremost of interdisciplinary expertise in quality and safety related to the health sector, such as the Australian Institute of Healthcare Innovation (Australia), Bonn University Hospital (Germany), Center for Public Engagement (England), Erasmus University (The Netherlands), Kings College London (England) and University of Geneva (Switzerland).