Faculty of Science and Technology

The Faculty of Science and Technology has about 2880 students and 200 employees. The curriculum focuses especially on engineering disciplines, while research activities are characterised by innovation and collaboration with industry and government.

Faculty of Science and Technology

The Faculty of Science and Technology is divided into seven departments:

Department of Chemistry, Bioscience and Environmental Engineering

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Department of Energy and Petroleum Engineering

Department of Energy Resources

Department of Mathematics and Physics

Department of Mechanical and Structural Engineering and Materials Science

Department of Safety, Economics and Planning


Want to become a student? You will find an overview of study opportunities here.

Scientific excellence

Some of the research conducted at the Faculty of Science and Technology is at the very forefront of scientific achievement in its respective areas.

Petroleum research

Situated in the "oil capital" of Norway, one of the world's largest oil exporters, the University of Stavanger is world-class when it comes to petroleum science. It also has strong research groups in the offshore technology field.

The petroleum industry is Norway's biggest source of income and plays an important role in world economy. We are proud to have Norway's largest research group studying petroleum economy.

Read more about the petroleum research at the University of Stavanger.

Risk management

Risk management is also of crucial relevance to the oil and gas industry. Our university has been world-leading in this field for decades. Many of the research activities are organised within the Centre for risk management and societal safety (SEROS).

Risk management and societal safety research at the University of Stavanger.