… and the winner is: Irene Ringen!

The first ever Skjæveland Award was presented at IOR NORWAY 2016. 24 PhD students participated with posters, and after two long days of evaluating the candidates, Irene Ringen stood out as the winner. Congratulations!

Picture of the happy winner of The Skjæveland Award, Irene Ringen from The National IOR Centre of Norway The happy winner, Irene Ringen from The National IOR Centre of Norway

In honour of Svein Magne Skjæveland's extensive contribution to the establishment of the petroleum education programmes and his work for The University of Stavanger, the first Skjæveland Award was presented at IOR NORWAY 2016. The award is given to a young researcher who shows excellence, courage and innovation in his/her research, and should motivate for further bold moves towards optimizing oil and gas production. The award was presented by Rector Marit Boyesen.

... and the award goes to ...

A total of 24 PhD students presented their posters at IOR NORWAY 2016, and the quality of their work was very high. In the end, one winner stood out: Irene Ringen from The National IOR Centre of Norway. Ringen presented her poster on «Resistivity measurements and polymer flooding of sandpacks with dual-porosity». 

– Wow! I did not expect to win at all, says a very moved award-winner.

– I did not even prepare a thank-you speech! she exclaims and laughs. Despite not being prepared, Ringen thanked her supervisors Arne Stavland (IRIS) and Aksel Hiorth (UiS/IRIS) for all their help. 

The evaluation committee consisted of:

  • Mariann Dalland, NPD
  • Eirik Jenssen, Dong Energy
  • Martin Fernø, University of Bergen
  • Espen Jettestuen, IRIS

Statement from the committee:

Ringen's work is well aligned with the conference theme, and future opportunities on the Norwegian Continental Shelf. Her PhD stand-up presentation was excellent, and the committee is impressed with her level of clarity and her understanding of the research.

The Skjæveland Award

The award background, as presented by Rector Marit Boyesen, 27 April 2016:

IOR is today a household word in academia and a default tool for the oil and gas business for planning, developing and operating oil and gas fields – be it offshore on onshore.

This has not always been the case. Neither has IOR emerged as a modus operandi solely by its own virtue. On the contrary, our present day IOR regime is the result of hard work by dedicated professionals and specialists within the art of going the extra mile for more barrels.

Strategic industry efforts have been the key driving force when it comes to producing «more hydrocarbons for the buck», while at the same time reducing the environmental footprint. This is today the standard IOR operating model – with governments as well as with the industry.

Nothing of this has emerged by itself. It has been built stone by stone by dedicated scientist and engineers, projects and operating organisations, governments and academia in a common understanding that we should jointly do our utmost to make the reservoirs yield whatever is possible.

The prize that is being awarded today is in recognition of these efforts and should motivate for further bold moves towards optimizing oil and gas production. It is also an award to highlight the young researchers, as they are the future of improved oil recovery on The Norwegian Continental Shelf. I would like to add that we are very honoured that The Petroleum Research School of Norway, NFiP, has sponsored all the PhDs presenting posters this year.

A key element in improving the oil recovery is to understand the fundamental processes that control the flow of fluids in a porous rock at pore-, core-, and field scale. One academician who has played a particular role in this regard is Director of Academia at The Norwegian IOR Centre, Professor Svein Magne Skjæveland. Not only through his academic research, but also as a key player in establishing long term research programmes, such as RUTH, SPOR, COREC and the National IOR Centre of Norway.   

He has himself received a number of awards and recognitions for his research, his teaching and for his contribution to the oil and gas profession as a specialist and as an editor of several technical publications. Skjæveland has been a cornerstone in the transition to a university. He was one of the strongest voices in the establishment of the petroleum programmes at the university, and later the first doctoral programmes at University of Stavanger in petroleum technology and offshore technology.

In 2009 Skjæveland received the SPE North Sea Region Formation Evaluation Award and he has also been a board member and European Director for Society of Core Analysis. Svein Magne is presently Professor Emeritus with the Institute for Petroleum Technology at the Faculty of Science and Technology at the University of Stavanger and Director of Academia at The National IOR Centre of Norway.

The University of Stavanger together with The National IOR Centre of Norway has decided to honour Professor Svein Magne Skjæveland’s extensive contribution to the field of petroleum science by announcing that as of today the official name of this prestigious award will be «Svein Skjæveland Award».